Home education List of Public Colleges of Education in Ghana

List of Public Colleges of Education in Ghana


There were 41 accredited colleges of education in Ghana in 2017 as against the 38 in 2015. The colleges are responsible for basic school teacher education or training.

A further two private colleges are to be absorbed into the group of 41 public institutions, raising the number to 43. Currently, there are 46 Public Colleges of Education in Ghana. Students who graduate are awarded Diploma in Basic Education (DBE).




However, since 2019, the government of Ghana has instituted a licensure examination regime for all graduates of Colleges of Education. Graduates must pass the exams in order to be posted to their teaching stations.

Teachers already teaching prior to the starting of the licensure examination in September 2019, both in public and private schools, would not be required to write the examination but would undertake a number of in-service professional training program to upgrade themselves to enable them to obtain the license. This process is yet to be done.

Targeted candidates for the exams are those who have completed colleges of education or those who read Education in the various universities and colleges who seek to be employed by the Ghana Education Service (GES).

The current policy is that all teachers and prospective teachers who seek to be employed by the GES would be required to write the licensure examination as directed by the NTC.

Three papers namely Professional Skills, Literacy and Numeracy are to be taken by the directions of the national teaching council.

A candidate is required to pass all three papers to acquire the teaching license. Should a candidate fail any paper, the candidate will not receive his or her teaching license until the candidate has resit and passed the paper in question.

This is a list of the 46 Public Colleges of Education in Ghana:


  • Abetifi Presbyterian College of Education, Kwahu Abetifi
  • Accra College of Education, Greater Accra
  • Ada College of Education, Ada
  • Agogo Presbyterian College of Education, Agogo
  • Akatsi College of Education, Akatsi
  • Akrokerri College of Education, Akrokerri
  • Al-Faruq College of Education, Wenchi/Droboso (newly absorbed college, 2017)
  • Atebubu College of Education, Atebubu
  • Bagabaga College of Education, Tamale
  • Bia Lamplighter College of Education, Sefwi-Debiso (newly absorbed college,2016)
  • Berekum College of Education, Berekum
  • Dambai College of Education, Dambai
  • Enchi College of Education, Enchi
  • Evangelical Presbyterian College of Education, Amedzofe
  • Evangelical Presbyterian College of Education, Bimbilla
  • Foso College of Education, Assin Foso
  • Gambaga College of Education, Gambaga (newly absorbed college, 2016)
  • Gbewaa College of Education, Pusiga constituency, Bawku Municipal District
  • Holy Child College of Education, Sekondi-Takoradi
  • Jasikan College of Education, Jasikan
  • Kibi Presbyterian College of Education, Kibi
  • Komenda College of Education, Kommenda, Ghana
  • Mampong Technical College of Education, Mampong
  • Methodist College of Education (Ghana), Akim Oda
  • Mount Mary College of Education, Somanya
  • Nusrat Jahan Ahmadiyya College of Education, Wa
  • Our Lady of Apostles (OLA) College of Education, Cape Coast
  • Offinso College of Education, Offinso
  • Peki College of Education, Peki
  • Presbyterian Women’s College of Education, Aburi
  • Presbyterian College of Education, Akropong–Akuapem
  • Seventh-Day Adventist (SDA) College of Education, Asokore
  • Ambrose College of Education, Dormaa Akwamu, Dormaa Municipal District (newly absorbed college, 2016)
  • Francis College of Education, Hohoe
  • John Bosco’s College of Education, Navrongo
  • Joseph’s College of Education, Bechem
  • Louis College of Education, Kumasi
  • Monica’s College of Education, Mampong
  • Teresa’s College of Education, Hohoe
  • Tamale College of Education, Tamale
  • Tumu College of Education, Tumu
  • Wesley College of Education, Kumasi
  • Wiawso College of Education, Sefwi-Wiawso District (Municipal)
  • Vincent College of Education, Yendi
  • McCoy College of Education
  • Agona SDA College of Education


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here